Lucy Thornton takes the reins at Scottish Young Lawyers’ Association

Lucy Thornton

The Scottish Young Lawyers’ Association (SYLA) has announced a new committee for the remainder of 2017/2018 following a recruitment drive and changes to the Executive Committee. Laura Meldrum (Anderson Strathern) who has been president of SYLA since May 2016, has opted to step down from her position.

At a committee meeting held yesterday, Lucy Thornton (Anderson Strathern) (pictured) was elected president, while former secretary of the association, Jessica Weir (Brodies), was elected vice president and Ayla Iridag (Clyde & Co) became secretary. Dominique McErlane (Brodies) remains on the committee as treasurer along with Laura Meldrum (Anderson Strathern) who will assume the role of past president.

Remaining on the non-executive committee are Ilaria Moretti (Anderson Strathern), Jay Goodwillie (Dalling Solicitors), Laila Kennedy (University of Aberdeen), and Zara Clark (DAC Beachcroft).

Joining the non-executive committee are Derek Couper (Shoosmiths), Graham Gibson (Clydesdale Bank), and Hannah Leslie (Springfield Properties PLC). Further information on all of the SYLA committee members can be found here.

Ms Thornton said: “We had a fantastic response following the recent recruitment process for the vacant non-executive committee member positions and it really highlighted how well respected SYLA is within the legal community.

“I would like to thank  Laura Meldrum for all that she has done for the association and I look forward to working with the new committee over the coming months.

“Given that Emma Boffey will no longer sit on the SYLA committee as past president, we would like to take this opportunity to thank her once again for her contribution to the association.”