Seventeen members of Faculty appointed to EHRC panel of counsel

Seventeen members of the Faculty of Advocates have been appointed to a new panel of counsel for the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC).

The commission has drawn up two groups, for Scotland and for England and Wales. In total, there are 81 advocates, barristers and solicitor advocates who will provide advice and representation, working to a revised strategic litigation policy.

Rebecca Hilsenrath, EHRC chief legal officer, said: “The Commission promotes and enforces the laws that protect everyone’s rights to fairness, dignity and respect and we are very much looking forward to working to that end with our new panel of legal counsel.

“The panel was appointed as a result of a robust, transparent and highly competitive process, and will provide a key resource of expertise in equality and human rights law.

“This is an important time for us as we start to implement our revised strategic litigation policy.  We are very grateful to all of the respondents whose input during the consultation process was invaluable.”

The seventeen are: Dorothy Bain, QC, Scott Blair, Dan Byrne, Ailsa Carmichael, QC, Juliette Casey, David Hay, Julius Komorowski, John MacGregor, Kenneth McGuire, Jonathan Mitchell, QC, Aidan O’Neill, QC, Anna Poole, QC, Catherine Smith, Kay Springham, Alice Stobart, Laura-Anne van der Westhuizen and Stephen Winter.

Full details can be found on the EHRC website.