Thirteen new Queen’s Counsel appointed

Lauren Sutherland

Thirteen new Queen’s Counsel have been appointed by Her Majesty the Queen on the recommendation of First Minister Nicola Sturgeon.

Six of the appointees are members of Ampersand.

The new appointees are Ashley Edwards, advocate (Black Chambers); Lisa Henderson, advocate (Ampersand); Steven Love, advocate (Compass Chambers); Ross Macfarlane, advocate (Mackinnon Advocates); Euan MacKenzie, advocate (Ampersand); Marcus McKay, advocate (Ampersand); Douglas Ross, advocate (Ampersand); Morag Ross, advocate (Axiom Advocates); Kay Springham, advocate (Compass Chambers); Lauren Sutherland, advocate (Ampersand); Susanne Tanner, advocate (Ampersand); Steven Walker, advocate (Terra Firma Chambers); and Iain McSporran, solicitor advocate.

The rank of Queen’s Counsel is generally reserved for those who have distinguished themselves in practice in the Supreme Courts. Advocates and solicitors with rights of audience in the Supreme Courts are eligible to apply to the Lord Justice General. Before making nominations to the First Minister, the Lord Justice General consults other judges, the Lord Advocate, the Dean of the Faculty of Advocates and the president of the Law Society of Scotland.

The independent observer of the process, Heather Baillie, was appointed with the agreement of the Lord Justice General, Lord Carloway and approval from the First Minister. Ms Baillie provided the First Minster with a separate report on her findings which is available here.